Cups Were Made to be Filled

Have you ever been working or relaxing while drinking a cup of something delicious, and at some point, you pick up your cup and it’s empty?  You don’t remember finishing it, so you missed that last satisfying swig. That’s exactly how I felt a couple months ago. I had been on autopilot, for some time, and didn’t realize I was almost empty until I was. I found myself in the danger zone. You know, the place where all the negative chatter resides. I know you creatives can relate to that. I couldn’t create a paper bag to fight my way out of.

Then one day, God showed up with His big pot of cup filling substance. He’s always there, but you know what I mean. He didn’t fill me all at once, but rather in intimate, personal moments, slowly pouring just enough for me to recognize that it was Him.

Here’s how it started. I work at a school, and one day I was conversing with one of the parents, LaTasha Kennedy. She is one cool chick. She and I were sharing our love for theatre, film, and acting, and somewhere in the middle of our conversation, I shared a career goal with her. She gave me some of the best advice! I mean she went into professional mode. I felt like I was having a one-on-one at a writers’ workshop. Tasha was so knowledgeable and passionate, depositing chunks, not nuggets, of wisdom. That was God filling my cup!

I felt energized, inspired, hopeful. She told me that surrounding myself with like-minded people was the key to life, and she suggested that I start a blog. Uh-oh. Hold it. Pump the brakes. Blog??? Blogging was on my long list of unfinished projects. I’ve started about four blogs, but none of them exist today. Nevertheless, I decided to give it one more try. After a couple of months of laboring over themes, titles, widgets, and whatnot, I finally finished it, thanks to my awesome niece, niki, aka mamasgotmoxie. niki is ultra creative! She’s a veteran blogger, seasoned writer, social media guru, and my favorite niece of my oldest sister. With Tasha’s continued encouragement and niki’s hands-on experience, here is my new blog. I even figured out how to link my other social media sites and match the names all by myself. That’s huge. I’m gonna throw myself a blog launching party tonight!

Seriously though, I’m really proud of what I have accomplished. I refuse to dwell on emptiness, failure, and inconsistencies. That only causes cups to crack and break. My future is in front of me and it’s all bright. So is yours. God intended our cups to be full, overflowing with life-giving substance. What’s your vision for keeping your cup filled this year? Who’s in your circle of influence? Are they giving you life or nailing your coffin? Are they filling or emptying your cup? If the latter, what are you going to do about it?

Let’s raise our cups. Here’s to keeping them filled in 2017.

2 thoughts on “Cups Were Made to be Filled

  1. Michelle Curtis

    It’s been a long time since I talked to you, but we still have so much in common. I am in the beginning stages of my blog as well. I just want to tell you that writing is your calling. Never stop because I’m sure God will take you to heights you only dreamed of. See you on TV one day. Love Michelle!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

